The Cittaslow cities gathered in Seferihisar


The members of the International Cittaslow cities from Turkey and North Cyprus met for the General Assembly meeting in Seferihisar. The Slow Cities also signed a commitment letter regarding the common projects they would like to initiate together.

The Turkish representatives of the Cittaslow network based in Italy, Seferihisar, Yenipazar, Akyaka, Perşembe, Taraklı, Gökçeada, Vize, Yalvaç, Şavşat, Halfeti, Uzundere and the slow cities Yeni Boğaziçi, Lefke and Mehmetçik from North Cyprus gathered in the General Assembly meeting on 21-22th May under the chairmanship of Seferihisar Mayor Tunç Soyer and District Governor Resul Çelik. The Cittashow coordinators of these municipalites, the academia of Cittaslow Science Council including Prof.Dr. Murat Barkan, İlkerÜnsever and Prof.Dr Tayfun Özkaya also joined the assembly.

At the end of the meeting, the Mayors signed a commitment letter claiming to protect their cities, history and natural resources and to preserve the national heritage for the coming generations.