Register Now: EEB Conference Clean Air Everywhere

Blowing the winds of change into European air policy
Air pollution causes nearly half a million premature deaths in the EU every year as well as significant health problems which lead to increased hospital admissions, extra medication and millions of lost working days. In addition to the health burden, air pollution causes significant damage to our environment. Right at the start of the EU’s Year of Air, the EEB and the ‘Soot Free for the Climate’ will host a conference where representatives of the European Commission, Member States, the European Parliament, regions and cities as well as other air experts will discuss how future EU policies can help improve Europe's air. The discussions will focus on the reduction of air pollution from major sources, air quality and public health, and the synergies between climate change and air policies.
When: Tuesday 8 January 2013, 9:00 until 17:30, followed by a reception.

Where: Representation of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia to the European Union, Rue Montoyer 47, 1000 Brussels, Belgium, Metro: Trone.
A detailed agenda will be communicated on the EEB website in December.
Confirmed speakers and panelists include:

Janez Potočnik, EU Commissioner for Environment

Connie Hedegaard, EU Commissioner for Climate Action

Jacqueline McGlade, Executive Director of the EEA

Phil Hogan, Environment Minister of Ireland

Lena Ek, Environment Minister of Sweden

Linda McAvan MEP (S&D, UK)

Jo Leinen MEP (EEP, Germany)

Bas Eickhout MEP (Green/EFA, Netherlands)

Chris Davies MEP(ALDE, UK)

Satu Hassi MEP (Greens/EFA, Finland)

Keith Taylor MEP (Greens/EFA, UK)

Elliot Treharne, Air Quality Manager, Greater London Authority

Mark Lawrence, Scientific Director, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) Potsdam

Jeremy Wates, EEB Secretary General

Genon Jensen, Executive Director, Health and Environment Alliance

Jos Dings, Director, Transport and Environment

Christer Ågren, Director, Air Pollution and Climate Secretariat


For more information, please contact Louise Duprez, Policy Officer for Air, Industrial Emissions and Noise, louise.duprez@eeb.org.