Jeonju World Slowness Forum and Slowness Award 2017

Jeonju city in Korea hosts 'Jeonju World Slowness Forum and Slowness Award 2017', the world's first Slowness Forum and Award. It will be held for three days from Nov. 1 in Jeonju Hyanggyo and other parts of the Jeonju city. The forum will be held under the slogan "World Asks, Jeonju Answers" and Jeonju will share its slow city ideologies with other slow cities in the world and network. The first Slowness Award will honor individuals and groups who have carried out the philosophy and goals of the slow city movement. Award winners are Seoul Metropolitan Government, Yeongseok Na of CJ E&M PD Team and Poet Suckju Jang, who authored "The Aesthetics of Slowness and Emptiness" and Italy Cittaslow Asolo (Comune di Asolo - Turismo), Australia Cittaslow Katoomba (Cittaslow Australasia) and Miguel Anxo Fernandez Lores, mayor of Pontevedra, a Spanish city without cars. Source: